Reviews

Full Reviews
Date Game
8/24/09
8/24/09
3/30/09
3/25/09
3/18/09
3/15/09
2/22/09
1/25/09
1/21/09
1/20/09
1/12/09
1/10/09
11/12/08
10/13/08
9/12/08
7/19/08
10/29/07
7/2/08
6/17/08
4/25/07
4/19/08
5/9/08
4/18/08
Mirror's Edge
Ghostbusters: The Videogame
Fallout 3
Moon
Legendary
Prince Of Persia (2008)
Kirby Super Star Ultra
Sonic Unleashed
TrackMania DS
Chrono Trigger (DS)
Left 4 Dead
Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts
Assassin's Creed
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Spore
Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 (PSP)
The Orange Box
Psychonauts
Banjo-Tooie
Puzzle Pirates
Banjo-Kazooie
Diddy Kong Racing DS
Cruisin' USA

*Listed in chronological order; newest appearing at the top. Dates recorded are the day the article was written, not posted.


Quick Reviews


December 17, 2009

Scribblenauts: While this game is fun for a little while, the novelty will wear off, so this one's a rental. After the novelty is gone, there is a good game underneath, packed with puzzles. However, a lot of the time, you'll find yourself using the same strategies later in the game. Also, Maxwell's controls are ass. Just... ass. 4 out of 5.

Shadow Complex: Pretty fun game, if you like Metroid on the Super Nintendo and GBA, you'd like this one. You might need to boost the difficulty up to get some more challenge, though - the AI's not bad, they just have as much trouble spotting you as anyone in the Metal Gear Solid franchise. Lots of cool level design, a big map with emphasis on exploration, and retro-style gameplay. 4 out of 5.

Red Faction Guerilla: The single-player in this game is pretty good, even if the story kinda sucks. Practically the whole game is side quests, so you have a LOT of stuff to do, and manipulating buildings (and by "manipulating", I mean "blowing the everloving crap out of 'em") never stops being satisfying. I'd talk about multiplayer, but I'm not allowed to play it, due to my friend John Lee and his unbelievable ability to come at me from NOWHERE and hit me with the sledgehammer for a one-hit kill. I haven't been so frustrated about a video game in such a long time, and I refuse to play it with him anymore. Regardless, 4 out of 5.

Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars: I have the DS version of this game, and damn is it good. It's got all you'd expect from a console GTA game with a retro, overhead camera. You'd expect the camera to be terrible, but it's not. It knows exactly where the action is, and it knows just where you want it to be. And the DS's touch screen functionality is actually used to its full potential; Not only is it used for minigames like working at a tattoo parlor, it's also used in the main game, like hotwiring a car. 5 out of 5.

Final Fantasy IV DS: I know, this one came out well over a year ago, but I never got around to reviewing it. It plays pretty much the same as the original, only with 3D graphics. But this time, it's a little harder, I never died in regular battles as often as I have in the DS one, and they changed the bosses' strategies, which is fine for people who haven't played it before, but for me, it just made it even more difficult. They also changed the pacing so by the end of they game, where your party should be in the level 50s, you're in the 70s! The hell! It's still a good game, it's just a bit harder and trickier. 4 out of 5.

50 Cent: Blood On The Sand: I was actually surprised with this one, for a 50 Cent game, it's really not bad, especially compared to Bulletproof. It plays like an arcade Gears of War, and it has tasks that you periodically complete for bonus power-ups like incendiary rounds or bullets that explode anywhere you shoot. And while the game should be played in co-op, your AI partner has your back. I had to turn the difficulty up a tad for a better challenge though. There are a few problems though, like the poorly placed checkpoints, repetitive gameplay, and a story that flat-out sucks, involving Fitty on a wild goose chase for a skull studded with diamonds. And unless you're into it, the terrible hip-hop music tends to get annoying. 3 out of 5.

Braid: I never did review Braid, did I? No, that was Kowbrainz, and he's the one who told me I should get it because it was supposedly the best game of the year or something. I played it, and I disagree. It's a good game, yes, but the story is way too enigmatic to make any sense. This game is fantastic to people who understand it, but to those who can't piece it together or just don't care, they set it aside to see the fact that it's just a side-scrolling puzzle game... you know, like ALL* indie games. 4 out of 5.

Resident Evil 5: The good news - it's just like Resident Evil 4. The bad news - it's just like Resident Evil 4. There's just not enough of a difference from Resident Evil 4 to make 5 a game worth $50. On the plus side, there's a co-op mode, and the inventory system doesn't feel like a friggin' puzzle game anymore. But the AI in your partner if you're playing alone is terrible, and the combination of story and setting is original, yet uninspired. And the controls play just like Resident Evil 4, which was a huge improvement, but are arbitrary compared to other third-person shooters like Gears of War, so first-timers to the RE series will have some trouble. 3 out of 5.